On the Road

25 Mar

I’m traveling again this weekend, although this time I don’t think I’ll have much time to discover new foods to recreate at home. Well, I will probably try my hand at recreating a mocha frappuccino, which I finished in record speed and will likely get at least one more of this afternoon – caffeine is essential to my survival today. It was an accidental order but ended up being surprisingly good. Where have you been all life? Oh, right, I was too good to order you with your frivolous-sounding name. How wrong I was. A chocolate coffee slurpee? Sign me up.

Conference sessions are taking up most of my day, and I’m spending all non-session-attending time revising and re-revising my presentation, which I give tomorrow morning. Already this morning, I’ve learned about silent-era stag films – including an animated one (see below –  very adult content), on which all the animated studios collaborated. This afternoon I’m going to hear talks about Hank Williams and the Velvet Underground. Best conference ever? I hope these papers will come close to the paper about Madonna’s music videos at CAA four years ago [“no re-entry!” shout out to k 🙂 ]. After my talk Saturday, I hope to hit up the art museum and Kinsey Institute. Then, off to my parents’ house for a day to visit, see my grandma, and stock up at Trader Joe’s!

In lieu of the dispersal of any culinary knowledge, I will leave you with some pictures of the crazy weather I encountered on my drive. Yes, I took these pictures with my Nikon whilst driving. I am very talent. Or reckless. Probably mostly the latter.

2 Responses to “On the Road”

  1. Diana March 25, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Good luck tomorrow. Don’t have too many frappies!! They might make you read too fast. I’m sure you will do fine, as always. Love ya

  2. shawn March 27, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    I think you take better photos driving than I do walking & standing. : )

Leave a Reply

