Still Going Strong

14 Jun

…and just a little injured.

This is what you get when you do girly push-up for thirty minutes. I even used a yoga mat! Oh, well. I have a week until I do that work out again; that should be enough time to heal, right?

Now let’s move on to a less painful topic like what I’ve been eating:

Sunday:

Breakfast (9:15 am): 1/2 cup granola, banana, almond milk, 1/2 glass oj

Snack (1:15 pm): oatmeal chocolate chip bar

Lunch (3:15 pm): salad with black bean and corn salsa, low-fat sour cream, salsa, cheese, and a stray tortilla chip (I added a few lime-flavored crumbs to the salad, realized they were stale, picked them off, and apparently missed one. Whoops.)

Snack (5:15 pm): small movie popcorn with butter (couldn’t finish it all, although I had to be very assertive and ask three times for my butter. That was awesome. Not.) and a small coke

Snack (10:00 pm): chocolate smoothie (based on this concoction; I used chocolate soy milk, a banana, 1 tbsp of almond butter, and hemp protein powder)

I had kind of a weird day of eating because I had to work in the morning and didn’t my break until 1:15. Then, after the movie – Midnight in Paris was soooooooooo good, loved Owen Wilson! And my man, Henri – I went for a run and did P90X, which meant that I didn’t have a chance to eat anything until 10 pm. Not so great. I also wasn’t too hungry so I just went with the smoothie. However, except for the 10-million-calorie snack at the movie, I did get a decent percentage of protein in every meal/snack.

Monday

Breakfast (8:45 am): Rice Chex, banana, almond milk with 1/2 glass oj

Snack (noon – post-workout): chocolate smoothie

Snack (1:20 pm): apple and 1 tbsp sunflower seed butter mixed with 1 tbsp almond butter

Lunch (3:00 pm): stir fry with tofu, red and green bell peppers, bok choy, red onion, garlic, peanuts, and a tamari-almond butter sauce, 1 chocolate-avocado ball

Snack (5:10 pm): 1/2 cup granola, blueberries, almond milk

Dinner (10:00 pm): salad with black bean salsa, red and green bell peppers, etc., medium slushie with coke and mt. dew, 1 chocolate-avocado ball

Work and working out threw a bit of a wrench in my feeding schedule (I generally need to eat something about every two hours) – hence, two snacks before lunch and a late dinner. Not too shabby, though. I intentionally ate a carb loaded breakfast since I was going to be working in about an hour; granola seemed like it would take a little too much work to digest. I was more conscientious about getting some protein with my other meals and snacks, though. I even cooked lunch. That rarely happens. Bonus: I survived my second P90X workout: Plyometrics.

Leave a Reply

